We have moved!

Check out wyndeborne.wordpress.com

Evening routine

I usually stay up pretty late (point in fact: I’m writing this at 2:54 AM), but that’s never prevented me from having an evening routine. This is something I’ve done since I was a wee kid. When I went to bed I was allowed to read in a book for half an hour before lights out. Before I could read my mother would do it for me, but that was more her routine than mine. It became mine when I started doing it for myself.

Over the years this has always stuck with me, and I’ve always read something before bed. Usually a fantasy book, sometimes an interesting article, blog post or comic book. It has also grown a bit, and has now become the following:

  • Decide to sleep, usually between the hours of 2 and 4 AM, to rise around 10 am.
  • Brush teeth, wash, etc.
  • Review today based on Franklin’s 13 Virtues, go over my short- and long-term goals and progress, plan tomorrow.
  • Find a good book and read for a bit, no more than 30 minutes.
  • Lights out, relax and sleep.

I’m guessing this is nothing to extraordinary, but I find it really helps me a lot. Same as with my mourning routine.

What’s your morning routine?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

