We have moved!

Check out wyndeborne.wordpress.com

Here and Now

Three years ago I was amazingly well trained. A life of martial arts rarely does this to you, but I’d been competing in kickboxing. I was good at it, and I was good at it because I trained a lot. Then I went to university. With no local clubs competing and few at my levels my martial arts started crumpling and my level of fitness dropped. I went running only in an ad-hoc basis and trips to the gym ended up being few and far between.

And now I need to pick up the slack of the last three years. For after finishing my Master’s degree I’m applying for the Norwegian NCO training (hærens befalskole) to become a medic and a sergeant. Their fitness requirement isn’t that high. But I’m just not that fit anymore.

To motivate myself, and track my progress, I’ve started this blog. Every time I train I will post. And I will aim to post three times a week. This isn’t just work-outs or runs, but also other activities: walking, hiking, swimming, and so on.

Three years ago my level of fitness were this:
Push-ups, 2 mins: 70
Sit-ups, 2 mins: 120
Pull-ups: 10
3000m: 12mins 30s

Height: 5′ 9.5″
Weight: 140lbs

As of two weeks ago this is my level of fitness and goal:
Push-ups, 2 mins: 30 out of 45
Sit-ups, 2 mins: 30 out of 70
Hang-ups: 2 out of 11
3000m: 12mins

Finish a 40km hike with 20kg backpack.

Height: 5′ 10″ (grown half-an-inch!)
Weight: 150lbs (need to move the flab up to my chest, tho)

You’ll notice that there’s a marked difference in my level of expectation compared to the previous level of fitness I showed. Two reasons for that: the military have a harder technique than my coach, and I only have half a year to prep, not four.

Wish me luck. I’ll need it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment